China Miéville

Author details

China Mieville, 柴納·米耶維, Чайна Миевил, and 12 others Chaĭna Mʹevilʹ, চায়না মিয়েভিল্‌, Чайна М'євіль, チャイナ ミエヴィル, China Tom Miéville, Չայնա Մևիլ, Чайна МЬевиль, China Miéville, 차이나 미에빌, チャイナ ミーヴィル, チャイナ・ミエヴィル, Чайна Мьевиль
Sept. 5, 1972

External links

China Tom Miéville ( mee-AY-vəl; born 6 September 1972) is a British speculative fiction writer and literary critic. He often describes his work as weird fiction and is allied to the loosely associated movement of writers called New Weird. Miéville has won numerous awards for his fiction, including the Arthur C. Clarke Award, British Fantasy Award, BSFA Award, Hugo Award, Locus Award and World Fantasy Awards. He holds the record for the most Arthur C Clarke Award wins (three). His novel Perdido Street Station was ranked by Locus as the 6th all-time best fantasy novel published in the 20th century. During 2012–13, he was writer-in-residence at Roosevelt University in Chicago. He became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2015.Miéville is active in anti-capitalist politics in the United Kingdom and has previously been a member of the International Socialist Organization (US) and the short-lived International Socialist Network (UK). He was formerly a member of the Socialist Workers Party, and in 2013 became a founding member of Left Unity. He stood for Regent's Park and Kensington North for the Socialist Alliance in the 2001 United Kingdom general election, gaining 1.2% of votes cast. He published his PhD thesis on …

Books by China Miéville